Uncategorized

Grandma’s House

This weekend was a real treat.

Although Cade and I live in town (right outside city limits technically) we spend a lot of time in and around a tiny town called Almont. His family owns quite a bit of land out there and they farm and ranch out there. The boys collect pickups and us ladies collect plants, animals, and cute vintage stuff.

In the time that Cade and I have been together (our 5 year anniversary was in March!) his family has basically adopted me as one of their own. His mother, Jamie, is my go to person when the chickens are being weird or I’m having a hard time with the plants or anything else really.

Jamie (or as I call her, Mom) called me around the middle of last week and said Grandma was back in town (She spent the winter in Florida that lucky duck). Grandma was thinning out some of her plants and invited me to come out this weekend and take some home.

Grandma’s house is magical. It’s an old home with narrow walkways and funny shaped rooms. And it’s filled with the coolest stuff. Antique tins, china, dolls etc. It’s all packed in and stacked together but it doesn’t feel cluttered. It’s cozy and homey and more than a bit eccentric in places.

Her garden is what I would call cottage garden styled. Mom calls it the “secret garden” which is fitting for all the little “secret” nooks and corners. Taking center stage of the garden is a plum tree that is currently in full bloom. There are narrow walkways that lead you between large flower beds. You’ll find a screened in sitting area complete with chandelier towards the front of the property. There are multiple bird houses tucked in here and there. A large corner bathtub is hanging out in the middle of the yard waiting to be converted into a second pond.

Although I hardly knew where to look first when my eyes did settle on any specific item I was told the story that goes with it. There’s a story for pretty much everything and just about everything is older than I am. And so we talked and we laughed and exchanged stories and had a wonderful time. And somewhere along the way we even dug up some plants for me to take home but I’ll save that for another post.

Leave a comment